Ranch Poem – “The Cannon”

9/29/2006

The Cannon

I wanted to leave.
and find an empty wood.

why do I have to sit
idle.
and watch these
people.
rolling their tobacco,
and listening to their
jazz records.
Like they were making
strides in innovation.
I don’t care if you
invented the fucking wheel.

and if they
were furniture.
feng shui.
I’m sure.
where’s the clutter?
the
mess.

it’s inside.

and why the hell,
do I have to
stare?
I should just eat.
away.

instead, I’ll wait
’til my appetite switches
back.

there is a flood.
on these streets.
people.half-people.
throw me in the
Charlie.

Salinger should
stop lying around.
and show me how
to light
this thing.

RwmG

320937_10200329739866232_403194096_n

What do you think?

